Car Accidents in South Florida
Dangerous Roads in South Florida
Miami-Dade is one of the top five counties in Florida for car accidents. A study reported that one out of six car accidents in Florida happens in the greater Miami area. 20% of collisions in Miami-Dade County occur within the city of Miami, which oversees 50,000 accidents a year – that’s 4,000 crashes a month.
The study also reported that more than 20% of traffic accident fatalities were associated with drunk driving, even though alcohol-related accidents only made up 5% of the total number of Miami accidents. Accidents that involve alcohol or drugs are far more likely to cause injuries or fatalities than those that don’t.
Free Case Evaluation
Moreover, Miami-Dade County reports on average over 300 traffic fatalities annually. Regardless of where you live in Miami, you probably live within a couple of miles of a family who has lost a loved one in a car accident.
There Is No Completely Safe Time to Drive
South Florida car accidents are every day, especially during rush hours. For instance, a regular day may witness around 30 crashes between 8:30 am and 9:30 am and maybe 15 accidents between 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. Even during moderate midday traffic, there is a rate of one car accident every four minutes.
However, accidents car accidents can occur any time of the day. Bad weather or driving at night may cause an accident. Construction zones also create dangerous confusion that may lead to a collision. There is also the danger of reckless driving by sleepy, inexperienced, or impaired drivers on the road.
Free Case Evaluation
Overall, there is never a completely safe time to drive, but the good news is that most accidents are avoidable. Exercising reasonable care on the road is key to staying safe.
Car Accidents in South Florida
The statistics above can be alarming, and they make it clear that South Florida drivers are bound to be directly or indirectly affected by a car accident at some point. So, when the day comes, it is essential that you understand what to do after a crash.
What To Do After An Accident
First and foremost, never leave the scene of the accident. You should always provide any necessary help and contact the local police if there were any injuries or significant property damage. Law enforcement will create an unbiased accident report that will later be used to determine costs and accident liability.
Auto Insurance Claims
You will also need to report the incident to your Auto Insurance company. Florida is a No-Fault state, which means that after an accident your car insurance will compensate you for some of the damages regardless of which driver is at-fault. By law, all vehicles with four or more wheels have to purchase Florida car insurance, with a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage each.
Your PIP benefits will cover medical bills and lost wages. However, it is vital that you understand that Florida Law only requires your insurance to pay for 80% of your medical bills and 60% of lost wages. Moreover, depending on the deductible you have on your policy, you may be required to cover the first $1,000 in out-of-pocket expenses.
Extra Compensation After an Accident
You may also be able to turn to your health insurance provider to pay for medical bills not covered by your insurance. For instance, some medical insurance providers, like MedPay, handle first-party claims regardless of fault. Depending on your coverage, your insurance may pay for deductibles, coinsurance, and copays of insurance types, like your PIP coverage. So after your auto insurance settlement pays for 80% of your medical bills, MedPay would cover the remaining 20%.
There are also exceptions to the No-Fault Insurance law for people who need to recover extra compensation after an accident. For starters, drivers who are not responsible for their injuries and have medical bills that exceed $10,000 can sue the liable party for compensation for any out-of-pocket expenses not covered by the insurance. Economic damages would include past and future medical bills, lost wages, and loss of earning capacity.
The second exception is for drivers who have sustained a permanent injury due to the accident. By law, a permanent injury is a permanent loss of a vital body function, significant scarring, disfigurement, dismemberment, or death. Damages would include compensation for past and future medical bills, lost wages, loss of earning capacity, and intangible injuries. These intangible damages would account for the patient’s pain and suffering, and psychological effects like loss of comfort, anxiety, and mental anguish.
1-800 INJURED Helps Clients in South Florida
Life after a car accident can be devastating. At 1-800 INJURED we understand that you shouldn’t have to suffer due to someone else’s negligence. A car crash can result in overwhelming medical bills, significant lost wages, painful personal injuries, and even death. Don’t suffer in silence! If you have been injured or are struggling to get the compensation you need, we can help.
1-800 INJURED is an attorney and medical referral service that helps people every day by connecting them with professionals who care. Our network of attorneys dedicate themselves to getting clients the maximum compensation and are prepared to do the same for you. No out-of-pocket fees are required, and attorneys work on a contingency fee basis. This agreement means that you won’t pay any attorney fees unless you get the money you need to recover.
Let one of these car accident lawyers handle the complicated legal work so that you can focus on recovery. They will fight against haggling insurance companies on your behalf while defending your best interest every step of the way. We want to help you get the money you need to get your life back on track. Get started on the better side of justice and call us today at 1-800 INJURED to get connected with an attorney.