Is Auto Insurance Mandatory In Miami?
Yes. In Florida, you need to have car insurance that meets the state’s minimum liability requirements to drive legally. The benefits from your auto insurance coverage are intended to cover medical bills and lost wages after an accident.
If you need help filing an insurance claim, or getting the compensation you need after a crash, a personal injury attorney could help you get the maximum compensation for your case. Call 1-800 INJURED to discuss your options with an experienced Miami car accident attorney from our referral network today.
Free Case Evaluation
Florida’s No-Fault Insurance Law
Florida’s No-Fault law requires drivers with a vehicle that has four or more wheels to purchase full liability car insurance. This law is intended to protect drivers after a car accident by requiring auto-insurance provide some financial protection regardless of which driver was “at-fault” in any given crash.
Drivers need to provide proof of active car insurance when they first register their vehicle with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMV). You may present the declaration page of your policy or your insurance card in either paper or electronic form.
Minimum Requirements for Florida Car Insurance
To satisfy Florida’s no-fault law, you have to purchase a basic auto insurance policy with at least the following two types of protection:
Free Case Evaluation
- $10K in Property Damage Liability (PDL) Coverage: This part of your insurance policy is intended to pay out the other party for their property damages when you are liable for a car accident. On the other hand, if you suffer property loss in a crash that is not your fault, the “at-fault” driver’s insurance company will cover the repairs for your car.
- $10K in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage: These essential PIP benefits will cover 80% of your medical bills regardless of which driver is at fault. Unless you elect to exclude specific benefits, this PIP coverage also includes a $5K death benefit available if an insured driver were to die in an accident and a disability benefit that reimburses you up to 60% of lost wages. Each of these separate benefits counts towards the combined $10K limit that your insurance provider will pay per accident.
The coverage and benefits of your insurance plan extend to your family if you choose to cover them, but family members are excluded from coverage if they have their own auto insurance.
Exceptions to Florida’s No-Fault Law
If you have more than $10K in medical bills and lost wages or have sustained permanent damage in a car accident that was not your fault, you could recover additional compensation through a personal injury lawsuit. Depending on your situation, you may be able to get money for economic damages like medical bills and lost wages, along with payment for intangible losses like your pain and suffering.
How 1-800 INJURED Can Help You
If you need help filing an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit after an accident, 1-800 INJURED can connect you with an experienced personal injury attorney. We are a medical and attorney referral service that helps drivers in South Florida get connected with the professionals they need after a crash. The network of attorneys we work with are dedicated to assisting clients to get the most money for their case and they are prepared to do the same for you. Call us toll-free at 1-800 INJURED to get started on your case today.