Takata is recalling millions of defective vehicles due to airbag safety issues. Approximately 69 million vehicles are affected in the United States alone, and another 7 million worldwide. About 8 million of those have been replaced, but there aren’t enough replacement airbags to make all the repairs until 2019. The defective airbags are said to be dangerous due to shrapnel-shooting inflator parts that may be affecting 22 brands of cars.

The defective inflator and propellant device may deploy improperly in case of a crash and shoot metal fragments into the passengers.

Toyota was the first annouced affected brand, but have said there have been no related injuries or deaths involving its vehicles. However, a New York Times report found a total of 139 reported injuries across all affected brands, 10 U.S. deaths, and 2 more fatalities in were confirmed Wednesday in Malaysia. Older model cars and cars in high-humidity areas are at highest risk of malfunction. Honda was found responsible for at least 2 related deaths and 30 injuries. The report even announced that Honda and Takata havge known about the issure since 2004 and failed to notify the National Highway Traffic Security Administration (NHTSA) in previous recall filings, which had begun in 2008.

At first, Takata believed the propellant chemicals were improperly handled and stored during assembly, which caused the metal inflators to bust open from excessive pressure. Later last July, they said the humid weather was believed to be the culprit, and recalled more vehicles.

Takata finally concluded that rust, bad welds, and even gum that was dropped into at least one inflator were at fault, along with the rest of the improper handling. The same documents found by serveral reports found that Takata’s plant in Mexico permitted a higher defect rate than the norm. The defect rate was said to be 6 to 8 times above aceptable limits, which equals about 60 to 80 defective parts for every 1 million airbag inflator shipped. More investigations are currently underway and await to be reported to the NHTSA.

The list of affected vehicles is provided below. You can also go to https://vinrcl.safercar.gov/vin/ and enter your vehicle’s VIN number to see if your vehicle is one of the many affected.

Acura: 2002–2003, 2009–2014 TL; 2003 CL; 2003–2006 MDX; 2005–2012 Acura RL; 2007–2016 RDX; 2010–2013 ZDX; 2013–2016 ILX

Audi (approximately 170,000): 2006–2013 A3; 2006–2009 A4 cabriolet; 2009–2012 Q5; 2010–2011 A5 cabriolet; 2015 Q5

BMW (approximately 1,605,000): 2000–2011 3-series sedan; 2000–2012 3-series wagon; 2002–2013 3-series coupe and convertible; 2001–2013 M3 coupe and convertible; 2002–2003 5-series and M5; 2003–2004, 2007–2013 X5; 2007–2010 X3; 2008–2013 1-series coupe and convertible; 2008–2011 M3 sedan; 2008–2014 X6; 2013–2015 X1

Buick: 2015 LaCrosse

Cadillac: 2015 XTS

Chevrolet (510,454, including Buick, Cadillac, GMC, Saab, and Saturn): 2007–2008 Chevrolet Silverado HD; 2015 Camaro, Equinox, Malibu

Chrysler: 2005–2010 Chrysler 300; 2006–2007 Crossfire; 2007–2008 Aspen

Daimler: 2006–2008 Dodge Sprinter 2500 and 3500; 2007–2014 Freightliner Sprinter 2500 and 3500

Dodge/Ram (approximately 5.64 million, including Chrysler, not including Daimler-built Sprinter): 2003–2008 Dodge Ram 1500; 2005–2010 Charger and Magnum; 2005–2011 Dakota; 2004–2008 Durango; 2003–2009 Ram 2500 and 3500; 2008–2010 Challenger, Ram 4500, and Ram 5500

Ford (1,509,535): 2004–2006 Ranger; 2005–2006 GT; 2005–2014 Mustang

GMC: 2007–2008 GMC Sierra HD; 2015 Terrain

Honda (approximately 8.51 million, including Acura): 2001–2007 Accord (four-cylinder); 2001–2002 Accord (V-6); 2001–2005 Civic; 2002–2011, 2016 CR-V; 2002–2004 Odyssey; 2003–2005 Civic Hybrid; 2003–2011 Element; 2003–2008 Pilot; 2006–2014 Ridgeline; 2009–2014 Fit; 2010–2014 FCX Clarity; 2010–2014 Insight; 2011–2015 CR-Z

Infiniti: 2001–2004 Infiniti I30/I35; 2002–2003 Infiniti QX4; 2003–2005 Infiniti FX35/FX45; 2006 Infiniti M35/M45

Lexus: 2002–2010 SC430

Mazda (approximately 500,000): 2003–2008 Mazda 6; 2006–2007 Mazdaspeed 6; 2004–2008 Mazda RX-8; 2004 MPV; 2004–2006 B-series

Mercedes-Benz (approximately 847,627, including Daimler): 2005–2011 C-class (excluding C55 AMG but including 2009–2011 C63 AMG); 2007–2008 SLK-class; 2007–2014 Sprinter; 2009–2012 GL-class; 2009–2011 M-class, 2009–2012 R-class; 2010–2011 E-class sedan, wagon, coupe, and convertible; 2010–2012 GLK-class; 2011–2014 SLS AMG coupe and roadster

Mitsubishi (104,994): 2004–2006 Lancer and Lancer Evolution; 2006–2009 Raider

Nissan (approximately 1,091,000, including Infiniti): 2001–2003 Maxima; 2002–2004 Pathfinder; 2002–2006 Nissan Sentra

Pontiac (approximately 300,000): 2003–2007 Vibe

Saab: 2003–2011 9-3; 2005 9-2X; 2010–2011 9-5

Saturn: 2008–2009 Astra

Subaru (approximately 80,000): 2003–2005 Baja, Legacy, Outback; 2004–2005 Impreza, Impreza WRX, Impreza WRX STI

Toyota (approximately 3,113,000, including Lexus): 2002–2007 Toyota Sequoia; 2003–2008 Corolla and Corolla Matrix; 2003–2006 Tundra; 2004–2005 RAV4

Volkswagen (680,000): 2006–2010, 2012–2014 Passat; 2009–2014 CC; 2010–2014 Jetta SportWagen and Golf; 2012–2014 Eos; 2015 Tiguan

If your or someone you love was injured in a car accident and you are looking for experienced, aggressive personal injury auto accident attorneys, call us at 1-800-INJURED, so we can get you in touch with excellent legal representation and get you the compensation you deserve.

Category: Uncategorized