Published on October 6, 2016
When is it O.K. not to wear a seat belt?
The Florida law requires seat belt use for all drivers and passenger in all motorized vehicles, except if:
- An individual is certified from a qualified physician as having a medical condition that causes the use of seat belts to being inappropriate or dangerous. A copy of this certificate must be kept with the individual while driving or being driven at all times.
- One is the employee of a newspaper home delivery service while delivering newspapers.
- The school bus was purchased new before December 31, 2000.
- The bus is used for transportation of people for compensation.
- The vehicle is farm equipment.
- A truck has a net weight over 26,000 pounds.
And when it’s acceptable not to have a booster seat:
- A seat belt without a booster seat may only be used for children between 4 and 5 years old when the driver is not a member of the child’s immediate family and the child is being transported as a favor or in an emergency.
Why is it so important?
The Dori Slosberg and Katie Marchetti Safety Belt Law (effective June 30, 2009) requires that all drivers, all front seat passengers and all passengers under the age of 18 to fasten their safety belts. (Ch. 316.614, Florida Statutes) Passengers 18 years or older will be charged with a violation if they fail to wear a seat belt when required by law.
Seat belt use is meant to prevent:
- Being ejected from a vehicle.
- Being thrown against other passengers, the steering wheel or the windshield.
- Being shifted from behind the wheel, where you are in control of the vehicle.
- What if I’m caught without a seat belt?
- The cost for a seat belt violation is $30.
For a child that is not properly restrained, the violation is $60.
Better safe than sorry!
A correctly worn seat beat is as follows:
- Lap belt around the hips and wear shoulder belt across the chest.
- Do not tuck the seat belt behind you.
Airbags are no substitute for seat belts.
Stay safe and always wear your seat belt. While seat belt cannot prevent every danger on the road, they greatly decrease chances of suffering any injuries.
It’s important for you to consult with the right team of Hialeah personal injury lawyers, so you can get the compensation you deserve after an accident, and make the process less mind-numbing for you. Call us today at 1-800-INJURED, so we can get you in touch with a Miami Car Accident Attorney, or anywhere in Florida, to make the process stress-free.