In America, we hold companies that transport people for compensation to a higher standard than the average driver. This standard applies to taxi cabs, buses, and even ridesharing companies like Uber in the state of Florida. We impose these standards because companies like Uber have an obligation to ensure that their passengers – and the general public – are protected from the negligent acts of the company’s drivers. Moreover, Uber drivers are more likely to be involved in an accident regardless of how cautious they may be. This is simply due to the amount of time they spend driving.
As drivers, we all make mistakes and miscalculations at one point or another, even if we are being cautious, but since the average driver only covers a limited traveling distance every day, their chances of being involved in an accident are reduced. Despite this, car accidents occur every day in Fort Lauderdale and the state of Florida in general. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, there were 402,385 car crashes in the state of Florida in 2017. 41,337 of the accidents that occurred in our state occurred in specifically in Broward County.
This means that there are literally hundreds of car accidents occurring on Broward County every day, and each time a driver gets behind the wheel of a car, they are taking a chance that they might either cause or simply be involved in a car accident. However, since Uber drivers travel at least double (if not triple) the distance that an average driver travels every day, the chances of an Uber driver causing, or being involved in, an accident increase dramatically. Unfortunately, the Uber accident laws in Florida are new, and due to this, many accident victims are left with a host of different questions about their rights, which is why 1800-Injured has compiled a list of answers to common questions that Uber accidents victims in Fort Lauderdale typically have after being involved in an accident.
Common Uber Accident Questions
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
Uber accidents are like normal car accidents in many respects. The time you have to submit a claim is one of these instances. The state of Florida has a four-year statute of limitations for most personal injury claims pursuant to the provisions of Fla.Stat.§95.11(3). As such, you have four years from the date the accident to initiate your claim, but as the vast majority of Uber accident attorneys will tell you, you should always initiate your claim as soon as possible after being involved in an accident.
Do Uber Drivers Have to Carry Special Insurance?
Yes, Uber drivers are required to carry special insurance by state law. Under Fla.Stat.§627.748, Uber drivers are required to carry a one million dollar auto liability insurance policy to cover personal injury, death, and property damage while they are signed into the ridesharing application and:
- On their way to pick up a passenger; or
- Actively transporting a passenger
When the Uber driver is signed into the application without actively going to or transporting a passenger, the Uber driver is required to carry insurance with the following policy limits:
- $50,000 per person in personal injury liability coverage
- $100,000 per accident in personal injury liability coverage
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage
Although Uber drivers do have to carry insurance that complies with Florida law, your ability to access that coverage is highly dependent on how the accident occurred, and whether or not you were a passenger, another driver, or an Uber driver at the time of the accident. As such, you should always consult with an Uber accident attorney who can determine how much insurance coverage is available in your unique situation.
Do Uber Drivers Carry Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
It depends on the facts of your case. If you were a passenger utilizing an Uber driver’s services and another vehicle caused the accident to occur, Uber’s one million dollar insurance policy would cover you if the at-fault driver was underinsured (meaning they didn’t carry enough insurance) or didn’t have any insurance at all. However, Uber drivers fall under a different standard, and they should consult with an Uber accident attorney to determine what insurance is available in their case.
What Types of Damages can I get Compensation for?
In this respect, Uber accidents are like any other car accident claim. You can seek compensation for medical bills, future medical care, lost wages, pain and suffering, etc. The overall value of these damages will depend on the severity of your injuries, and the effect your injuries are having and will have on your life in the future. Moreover, the calculation of damages should always be done with the guidance of an experienced Uber accident attorney.
Should I Hire an Uber Accident Attorney to Represent me?
The decision to hire an Uber accident attorney is a personal choice that can depend on a number of factors, but Uber is a multi-billion dollar company that is notorious for vigorously defending against accident claims. As such, you should give serious consideration to hiring an Uber accident attorney who can build your case and protect your legal interests. 1800-Injured is medical and lawyer referral service that connects accident victims with Uber accident attorneys in the Fort Lauderdale area. If you have been involved in an Uber accident, call 1-800-Injured today to be connected with an Uber accident attorney near you.