Published on April 28, 2017
What is PIP?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP), also called “no-fault coverage,” covers medical expenses after an accident regardless of who is at fault. It is an extension to car insurance which covers medical expenses and lost wages.
If you are injured in a car accident in Florida and have PIP coverage in your insurance plan, you are entitled to receive full benefits up to $10,000, regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
PIP insurance can also cover expenses such as transportation for medical purposes.
PIP is mandatory in Florida, along with 13 other states. However, what is covered by PIP varies from state to state.
PIP is more comprehensive than Med Pay insurance and compensates you for lost wages. These states choose to make PIP compulsory to try to limit the number of lawsuits filed against at-fault drivers. PIP insurance removes the question of blame for a car accident by using each driver’s policy to pay for the damages to each driver’s individual needs.
Below is a map of the 14 states that require auto insurance policies to include PIP in your coverage by law, along with the minimum limits required.
How Much Does PIP Cover?
PIP insurance pays for 80% of your medical bills, and 60% of your lost wages, for a total of up to $10,000. The rest of the expenses are out-of-pocket, unless recovered from the driver who caused the accident.
Be cautious! PIP benefits are only available if you seek help within 14 days of the accident. Waiting past the deadline strips away those benefits.
PIP will cover any accident or injury that involves a vehicle, regardless of whether the victim was on a bicycle, on foot, rollerblades, etc.
The $10,000 PIP coverage can often be used up before a victim is out of the hospital.
Even if a victim is completely out of fault, having a lack of coverage can leave one stuck with piles of bills and lost income. It is important to choose the right coverage to avoid getting stuck with hundreds, thousands, or even hundreds of thousands in medical bills.
In addition to PIP, Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage can help you stay protected. It is an extension to your insurance policy in Florida, but is required in some states. It is highly recommended you choose to add the option to add UM coverage to your insurance policy, as it comes with great benefits at little additional costs. Find out more by clicking the hyperlink above.
Make sure to choose the right plan for you- protect yourself.
If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident, don’t wait. You only have 14 days to report an injury after an accident. If you’re seriously injured and are at risk of exceeding your maximum benefits, call us as soon as possible at 1-800-INJURED, and we will take prompt action to connect you to a team of legal experts who will ensure you get the full benefits and aren’t left with out-of-pocket expenses. Accidents are stressful enough. We’re here to take the additional stress away, so you can get back to your daily life.